Used vehicles to be registered in Maryland are required by Maryland law to undergo a vehicle safety inspection prior to sale or transfer. How do I obtain a Maryland Inspection Certification for my vehicle? To obtain an inspection certification, you must have your vehicle inspected at an authorized vehicle safety inspection station in Maryland.How does the Maryland state police vehicle safety inspection system work?
Welcome to the Maryland State Police Vehicle Safety Inspection System. The Vehicle Safety Inspection System enables Vehicle Inspectors in the state of Maryland to complete Class A, B, C, M, T and A/M Trailer inspections, and submit them electronically to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration.How many inspection stations are there in the state of Maryland?
The Maryland State Police has licensed approximately 1,600 of these facilities in all parts of the state. Click here to find an inspection station near you that can provide an inspection for your type of vehicle.Do I have to pay for a re-inspection in Maryland?
See Maryland's regulations (COMAR 11.14.01.10 (A (3)) for details. Note that the inspection station can charge you for each re-inspection, unless the repair can be visually verified. If you do not have the vehicle re inspected within 30 days or you exceed 1,000 miles, you will be required to pay for a new, complete inspection.